Ritz Library: HIS 221: Medieval Europe: 600-1500: Research Websites

Selected Websites

British Library - Medieval Manuscripts Blog
The British Library is home to world-class collections of manuscripts including papyri, medieval illuminated manuscripts and early modern state papers.
British Library Digitised Manuscripts
The Digitised Manuscripts site contains many different kinds of manuscripts, archives and documents.
The Camelot Project
Primary sources related to the Arthur legends. Maintained by University of Rochester.
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to resources in medieval studies. The Labyrinth’s easy-to-use links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images around the world.
Digital Public Library of America: Medieval
Lists of medieval and Renaissance sources.
Euro Docs
Documents on the history of medieval and Renaissance Europe. Maintained by Brigham-Young University.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
A database of primary and secondary sources related to Medieval times, arranged by time period or geographic location. Also includes articles, transcripts, and related links. Created by Fordham University.
Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts
From the National Library of the Netherlands and the Museum Meermanno-Westreenianum.

Florilegium
Scholarly essays published by the Canadian Society of Medievalists. Multidisciplinary focus, maintained by the University of New Brunswick.

The Decameron Web
"This site is an interactive project by Brown University students designed to prompt investigation and discussion of the Decameron texts — stories from people escaping Florence at the time of the Plague. A “true encyclopedia” of early modern life and a “summa” of late medieval culture, the Decameron explores perennially human situations and dilemmas."
De Re Militari
Collection of primary and secondary sources on warfare in the Middle Ages. Maintained by the Society for Medieval Military History.
Feudal Terminology
Medieval terms compiled by The University of Mississippi.
Medieval Digital Resources
MDR is a curated database of peer-reviewed digital materials for the study of the Middle Ages.
Monastic Matrix
Primary and secondary sources on women religious figures in the Middle Ages. Maintained by the University of St. Andrews, Scotland.
The ORB
Online Reference Books for Medieval Studies.
Suda Online: Byzantine Lexicography
The Suda (or Stronghold) is a massive 10th century Byzantine Greek historical encyclopedia of the ancient Mediterranean world, covering the whole of Greek and Roman antiquity and also including Biblical and Christian material.
Virtual Library History Index: Medieval Europe
Online medieval texts and publications maintained by Michigan State Unviversity.