Ritz Library: Archaeology: Start Your Research

General Encyclopedic Databases

Tips for using online reference collections:

Identify your main topic and keywords.
Try synonyms and different combinations of words. Experiment with broad and narrow (specific) terms.
Search in Gale eBooks or Credo Reference for quick facts and general overviews of your topic.

Need help? Chat with a librarian now!

Credo Reference
General and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other quick reference materials, including images, sound files, videos and more

Gale eBooks
Online encyclopedias, directories and handbooks covering most academic subjects.

Credo Topic Pages

Credo Reference Topic Pages summarize information related to a topic on a single page and include search results from other selected library eResources.

Suggested Keywords

Archaeobiology
Archaeology (variant: archeology)
Artifacts (variant: artefacts)
Anthropology
Evolutionary Archaeology
Ethnology
Material Culture

Online Archaeology Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Deborah M. Pearsall (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2007-10-23

Films on Demand -- Archaeology Videos

More streaming films on Archaeology topics

Links to Related Guides

Other Tools

Get Help with Citation Styles
Find out more about MLA and APA citation styles
Getting Started with Research
Tips and strategies for approaching a research project or paper

Departmental Information

The Department of Behavioral Sciences

Archaeology is part of the Behavioral Sciences Department, which is located in Hudson 403.

Department Phone: (845) 431-8340

Archaeology

Librarian

Research Appointments