Skip to Main Content

American Sign Language

This guide will help you to identify resources (books, databases, websites, and more) that will help you research topics in American Sign Language (ASL).

Best Bet Databases

Academic Search Complete
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study.
ProQuest Research Library
The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Also includes the NY Times.
ERIC
Articles, documents and reports on all aspects of education, indexed by the statistics, research, and evaluation arm of the U.S. Department of Education. Very little full text.
Education Source
The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals.

Featured DVDs

Through Deaf Eyes by a film by Lawrence Hott and Diane Garey
Call Number: DVD 362.42 T531 Media Loan

Publication Date: 2007
Fingerspelling 1 by produced by Signs for Intelligence
Call Number: DVD 419 F497 Media Loan

Publication Date: 2005
Trix Upon a Time: An American Sign Language Storytelling Handbook by Trix Bruce
Call Number: DVD 419 T842 2005 Media Loan

Publication Date: 2005
Signing Naturally by Cheri Smith; Ella Mae Lentz
Call Number: 419 S578

Publication Date: 2008
See what I mean: differences between deaf and hearing cultures by Anna Mindess, Thomas K. Holcomb
Call Number: DVD 305.9082 S451 2009

Publication Date: 2009

Streaming Media from Films on Demand

Comparing Library Databases to Websites

Featured Journals

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2025 4:15 PM
URL: https://sunydutchess.libguides.com/asl
Print Page

Subjects: English & Literature, World Languages & Cultures

Tags: american sign language, ASL, languages, sign language

For accessibility concerns about the library website, please contact Tina Kiernan.