Ritz Library: Career Research: Career Research

DCC Academic, Career & Transfer Center (ACT)

The DCC Academic, Career & Transfer Center (ACT) is located in the Orcutt Student Services Building, Room 301, (845) 431-8600.

Academic, Career and Transfer Center
See the full list of services and find out more!

Career Websites

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the OOH gives an update on each profession annually, including projections

Career One Stop
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, includes state specific job banks
O*NET
O*NET (The Occupational Information Network) is a free database developed for the U.S. Department of Labor, offering free analysis of skills necessary for specific career fields.

Peterson's Test and Career Prep
Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers. Please create an account to use and track progress on practice exams.

U.S. News & World Reports: Best Jobs
Job rankings from U.S. News & World Report magazine.

Career Full Text Databases

Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)
Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Salem Press: Online collection of Reference Titles
Contains eBooks covering career advice for a variety of fields and industries.

Tips for Searching Career Databases

Here are some keywords that may be helpful in searching vocational databases. Try using different combinations and ask a librarian for help with your search strategy.

Career fields: nurse OR nurses OR nursing; teachers OR teaching; firefighters OR firefighting
Jobs, job listings
Resumes, Interviewing, Application, Internship, Job Qualifications
Work Environment, Work-Life Balance, Attitudes, Job Satisfaction, Stereotypes
Careers, Vocations, Employment, Workforce, Jobs (if you are searching RitzDiscovery)