Ritz Library: Chemistry: Start Your Research

General Encyclopedic Databases

Tips for using online reference collections:

Identify your main topic and keywords.
Try synonyms and different combinations of words. Experiment with broad and narrow (specific) terms.
Search in Gale eBooks or Credo Reference for quick facts and general overviews of your topic.

Need help? Chat with a librarian now!

Credo Reference
General and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other quick reference materials, including images, sound files, videos and more

Gale eBooks
Online encyclopedias, directories and handbooks covering most academic subjects.

Credo Topic Page

Credo Reference Topic Pages summarize information related to a topic on a single page and include search results from other selected library eResources.

Chemistry Topic Page

Online Chemistry Encyclopedias

A selection of chemistry and general science encyclopedias available online for the DCC community. See full list.

Encyclopedia of Chemistry by Don Rittner; Ronald A. Bailey
Publication Date: 2016-05-01

Chemistry Dictionaries

Condensed Chemical Dictionary by Michael D. Larrañaga (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-08-25
The Penguin Dictionary of Science
Publication Date: 2014
English-Spanish Chemistry Dictionary by Steven M. Kaplan
Publication Date: 2014-02-03

Chemistry

Other Tools

Get Help with Citation Styles
Find out more about MLA and APA citation styles
Getting Started with Research
Tips and strategies for approaching a research project or paper

Departmental Information

The Department of Physical Sciences, Engineering, & Technology

Chemistry is part of the Physical Sciences, Engineering, & Technology Department, which has offices in Washington 110 and 210.

Department phone: (845) 431-8550

Chemistry

Your Subject Librarian

Research Appointments

General Encyclopedic Databases

Credo Topic Page

Online Chemistry Encyclopedias

Chemistry Dictionaries

Chemistry

Other Tools

Departmental Information