Ritz Library: Education: Start Your Research

General Encyclopedic Databases

Tips for using online reference collections:

Identify your main topic and keywords.
Try synonyms and different combinations of words. Experiment with broad and narrow (specific) terms.
Search in Gale eBooks or Credo Reference for quick facts and general overviews of your topic.

Need help? Chat with a librarian now!

Credo Reference
General and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other quick reference materials, including images, sound files, videos and more

Gale eBooks
Online encyclopedias, directories and handbooks covering most academic subjects.

Education Credo Topic Pages

Credo Reference Topic Pages summarize information related to a topic on a single page and include search results from other selected library eResources.

Suggested Keywords

Teaching
Instruction
Early childhood education
Elementary education
Middle school education
Secondary education
Special education
Gifted and talented
Common Core
Childhood development
Curriculum development or planning or design
Classroom management

Online Reference Books

A History of Western Philosophy of Education by Megan J. Laverty (Editor); David T. Hansen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2023-01-26
The SAGE Handbook of Inclusion and Diversity in Education by Matthew J. Schuelka (Editor); Christopher J. Johnstone (Editor); Gary Thomas (Editor); Alfredo J. Artiles (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019-11-19
Special Education: A Reference Book for Policy & Curriculum Development by Arlene Sacks
Publication Date: 2018-11-30
Encyclopedia of Special Education by Elaine Fletcher-Janzen (Editor); Kimberly J. Vannest (Editor); Cecil R. Reynolds (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory by Michael A. Peters (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017-09-18
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children by Olivia N. Saracho (Editor); Bernard Spodek (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012-08-09

Reference Books in Print

International Education: an Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues and Systems by Daniel Ness (Editor); Chia-ling Lin (Editor); Immanuel Ness
Call Number: Ref. 370.3 I61 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-26

Questioning for Classroom Discussion - Elementary School -- Films on Demand

Pre-K Pages

Links to Related Guides

Other Tools

Get Help with Citation Styles
Find out more about MLA and APA citation styles
Getting Started with Research
Tips and strategies for approaching a research project or paper

Departmental Information

The Department of Behavioral Sciences

Education is part of the Behavioral Sciences Department, which is located in Hudson 403.

Department Phone: (845) 431-8340

Education

Librarian

Research Appointments