Ritz Library: Geography: Start Your Research

General Encyclopedic Databases

Tips for using online reference collections:

Identify your main topic and keywords.
Try synonyms and different combinations of words. Experiment with broad and narrow (specific) terms.
Search in Gale eBooks or Credo Reference for quick facts and general overviews of your topic.

Need help? Chat with a librarian now!

Credo Reference
General and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other quick reference materials, including images, sound files, videos and more

Gale eBooks
Online encyclopedias, directories and handbooks covering most academic subjects.

Credo Topic Page

Credo Reference Topic Pages summarize information related to a topic on a single page and include search results from other selected library eResources.

Suggested Keywords

Geography
Geology
Geophysics
Geophysicists
Meteorology
Oceanography
Weather
Earth Science
Geopolitics
Topology
Topography
Ecology
Human Geography

Online Geography Encyclopedias

A selection of geography encyclopedias available online. See full list of Credo Reference titles related to Geography.

The Hutchinson unabridged encyclopedia with atlas and weather guide
Publication Date: 2018
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography by Audrey Kobayashi (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2019-11-29
The SAGE Handbook of Historical Geography by Mona Domosh (Editor); Michael Heffernan (Editor); Charles W. J. Withers (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021-03-09

Geography Dictionaries

Cultural Geography: A Critical Dictionary of Key Concepts by David Atkinson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2005-09-17
Presents short essays exploring the key concepts in cultural geography.
Dictionary of Leisure, Travel and Tourism by P. H. Collins; Jane Russell
Publication Date: 2007-01-16
Hutchinson Dictionary of Place Names by Helicon Publishing
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The Dictionary of Physical Geography by David S. G. Thomas
Publication Date: 2016

Intriguing Reads: ScienceDaily's Geography News

Fresh news in geography!

Other Tools

Get Help with Citation Styles
Find out more about MLA and APA citation styles
Getting Started with Research
Tips and strategies for approaching a research project or paper

Departmental Information

History, Government & Economics

Geography classes are part of the History, Government & Economics Department. Department offices are located in Hudson 403.

Department Phone: (845) 431-8510

Geography

Your Subject Librarian

Research Appointments

What Is Geography?