Ritz Library: Geology: Start Your Research

General Encyclopedic Databases

Tips for using online reference collections:

Identify your main topic and keywords.
Try synonyms and different combinations of words. Experiment with broad and narrow (specific) terms.
Search in Gale eBooks or Credo Reference for quick facts and general overviews of your topic.

Need help? Chat with a librarian now!

Credo Reference
General and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other quick reference materials, including images, sound files, videos and more

Gale eBooks
Online encyclopedias, directories and handbooks covering most academic subjects.

Credo Topic Page

Geology Topic Page

Credo Reference Topic Pages summarize information related to a topic on a single page and include search results from other selected library eResources.

Online Geology Encyclopedias

A selection of geology and physical science encyclopedias available online through Credo Reference. See full list.

Encyclopedia of Archaeology
Encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.
Encyclopedia of Paleontology
The majority of the entries are devoted to explanations of paleontological concepts and techniques, examinations of the evolutionary development of particular organisms and biological features, profiles of major discoveries, and biographies of leading scientists.
Encyclopedia of Volcanoes
This 2nd fully revised and updated edition provides a comprehensive source of information on the multidisciplinary influences of volcanic eruptions--both destructive and beneficial.
Guide to Gems
A fascinating, richly illustrated guide to the identification and use of gemstones.
Guide to Minerals, Rocks and Fossils
An authoritative and practical identification guide to minerals, rocks and fossils of the world.
Visual Guides: Understanding The Earth
The Visual Guides series answers the most important questions on topics that fascinate everyone through a series of videos and animations: weather, the human body, the Earth, the universe and plants. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in these areas.

Streaming Geology Videos

ScienceDaily's Geology News

Fresh news in geology!

Geology History

Why Geology Matters by Doug Macdougall
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
Time Matters by Michael J. Leddra
Publication Date: 2010-05-24
The Planet in a Pebble by Jan Zalasiewicz
Call Number: 551.7 Z22 2010
Publication Date: 2010-11-05
Earth by Richard Fortey
Call Number: 551.7 F738
Publication Date: 2004-11-02

Geology Related Dictionaries

Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology by Andrew Porteous; Suresh Nesaratnum
Publication Date: 2008-12-03
Hutchinson Dictionary of Science by Helicon
ISBN: 9781859862346
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
The Dictionary of Physical Geography by David S. G. Thomas
Publication Date: 2016

Other Tools

Get Help with Citation Styles
Find out more about MLA and APA citation styles
Getting Started with Research
Tips and strategies for approaching a research project or paper

Departmental Information

The Department of Physical Sciences, Engineering, & Technology

Geology is part of the Physical Sciences, Engineering, & Technology Department, with offices in Washington 110 and 210.

Department Phone: (845) 431-8550

Geology

Your Subject Librarian

Research Appointments