Ritz Library: Music: Start Your Research

General Encyclopedic Databases

Tips for using online reference collections:

Identify your main topic and keywords.
Try synonyms and different combinations of words. Experiment with broad and narrow (specific) terms.
Search in Gale eBooks or Credo Reference for quick facts and general overviews of your topic.

Need help? Chat with a librarian now!

Credo Reference
General and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other quick reference materials, including images, sound files, videos and more

Gale eBooks
Online encyclopedias, directories and handbooks covering most academic subjects.

Music Credo Topic Pages

Credo Reference Topic Pages summarize information related to a topic on a single page and include search results from other selected library eResources.

Suggested Keywords

Acoustical Engineering
Music Appreciation
Musicals
Musical Instruments
Tone
Composition
Music Theory

Online Music Reference Books

The Harvard Dictionary of Music by Don Michael Randel
Publication Date: 2003-11-28
New Penguin Dictionary of Music by Paul Griffiths
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Musical Terms, Symbols and Theory by Michael C. Thomsett
Publication Date: 2012-01-25

Music Reference Books in Print

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (Editor); John Tyrrell (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. 780.3 G883 2001
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. 781.6403 E564
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz by Barry D. Kernfeld (Editor); Barry Kernfeld (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. 781.6503 N532
ISBN: 1561592846
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip Hop Culture by Yvonne Bynoe
Call Number: Ref. 782.421649 B994 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-30

Films On Demand -- Music in Videos

Song Exploder

Links to Related Guides

Other Tools

Get Help with Citation Styles
Find out more about MLA and APA citation styles
Getting Started with Research
Tips and strategies for approaching a research project or paper

Departmental Information

The Department of Performing, Visual Arts & Communications

Music is part of the PVAC Department, which is located in Washington 010.

Department Phone: (845) 431-8610

Music

Assistant Librarian

Research Appointments