Ritz Library: Paralegal: Start Your Research

WestlawNext

WestlawNext
Federal and state case law, as well as statutes and regulations. Note: special account required to log in.

Legal Citations

The Bluebook by Harvard Law Review (Compiled by); Columbia Law Review (Compiled by); University of Pennsylvania Law Review (Compiled by); Yale Law Review (Compiled by)
Call Number: Ref. 349.73 B658 2015

Publication Date: 2015-06-25

General Encyclopedic Databases

Tips for using online reference collections:

Identify your main topic and keywords.
Try synonyms and different combinations of words. Experiment with broad and narrow (specific) terms.
Search in Gale eBooks or Credo Reference for quick facts and general overviews of your topic.

Need help? Chat with a librarian now!

Credo Reference
General and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other quick reference materials, including images, sound files, videos and more

Gale eBooks
Online encyclopedias, directories and handbooks covering most academic subjects.

Online Legal Reference Books

Dictionary of Law by P.H. Collin
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution by Leonard Williams Levy; Kenneth L. Karst; Adam Winkler
Publication Date: 2000-06-19

Credo Topic Pages

Credo Reference Topic Pages summarize information related to a topic on a single page and include search results from other selected library eResources.

Legal Reference Books in Print

McKinney's Consolidated Laws of New York
Call Number: Ref. 345.12 N532

Publication Date: Latest updates: 2020
United States Code Annotated (USCA)
Call Number: Ref. 348.7323 U58

Publication Date: Latest updates: 2019
Black's Law Dictionary, Standard Ninth Edition by Bryan A. Garner
Call Number: Ref. 340.03 B627 2009

Publication Date: 2009-06-25
Gibson's New York Legal Research Guide by William H. Manz; Ellen M. Gibson
Call Number: Ref. 340.072 G448 2014

Publication Date: 2014-01-01

Legal Research & Writing Books and eBooks

Legal Writing by BarCharts, Inc.
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Legal Research by Jennifer Albright; William H. Putman
Call Number: ReserveB 340.072 P988 2015

Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Legal Research: How to Find and Understand the Law by Stephen Elias
Call Number: 340.072 E42 2018

Publication Date: 2018-08-30

Paralegals in the Prison -- Films on Demand

News from Harvard Law School

Suggested Legal Keywords

Law
Paralegal
Legal Assistants

Other Tools

Get Help with Citation Styles
Find out more about MLA and APA citation styles
Getting Started with Research
Tips and strategies for approaching a research project or paper

Departmental Information

The Department of Business, Aviation and Construction Professions

Paralegal Studies is part of the Business, Aviation and Construction Professions Department, which is located in Taconic 305.

Department Phone: (845) 431-8370

Paralegal

Librarian

Research Appointments