Ritz Library: Portuguese: Start Your Research

General Encyclopedic Databases

Tips for using online reference collections:

Identify your main topic and keywords.
Try synonyms and different combinations of words. Experiment with broad and narrow (specific) terms.
Search in Gale eBooks or Credo Reference for quick facts and general overviews of your topic.

Need help? Chat with a librarian now!

Credo Reference
General and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other quick reference materials, including images, sound files, videos and more

Gale eBooks
Online encyclopedias, directories and handbooks covering most academic subjects.

Credo Topic Pages

Credo Reference Topic Pages summarize information related to a topic on a single page and include search results from other selected library resources.

Suggested Keywords

Portuguese
Portuguese Republic
Portuguese language
Portuguese culture and traditions
Portuguese translation
Portugal
Brazil
Iberian peninsula
Portuguese creoles
Azores
Madeira
Lusophone Africa

Online Reference Books

Collins Portuguese Dictionary
Publication Date: 2008-05-27
Linguistic Approaches to Portuguese As an Additional Language by Karina Veronica Molsing (Editor); Cristina Becker Lopes Perna (Editor); Ana Maria Tramunt Ibaños (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020-03-26
Portuguese Business Dictionary by Morry Sofer
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations by Melissa Sue Hill
Publication Date: 2017
Search within the publication (on the right) for whatever information you are interested in.

Porto, Portugal

Photo by Nick Karvounis on Unsplash

Correio da Manhã - Daily News

Links to Related Guides

Other Tools

Get Help with Citation Styles
Find out more about MLA and APA citation styles
Getting Started with Research
Tips and strategies for approaching a research project or paper

Departmental Information

The Department of English and Humanities (ENG)

Portuguese (POR) is part of the ENG Department which is located in Hudson Hall room 408.

Department Phone: 845-431-8430

Portuguese

Your Librarian

Research Appointments