Skip to Main Content

Spanish

This guide covers resources for learning Spanish.

Tips for Searching Career Databases

Here are some keywords that may be helpful in searching vocational databases. Try using different combinations and ask a librarian for help with your search strategy.

Linguists, Interpreters, Translators, Educators, Teachers, Healthcare workers, multilingualism, bilingualism
Careers AND multilingual* OR bilingual*
Resumes, Interviewing, Application, Internship, Job Qualifications, Grants
Work Environment, Work-Life Balance, Attitudes, Job Satisfaction, Stereotypes
Careers, Vocational, Employment, Jobs, Workforce (if you are searching RitzDiscovery)

Careers using Spanish

Interpreters and Translators
Published by the US government, the Occupational Outlook Handbook describes various careers and occupations and provides statistically information and predictions for future job feasibility.
Other occupations from the Occupational Outlook Handbook
Other jobs involving a foreign language.

Career Full Text Databases

Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)
Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Salem Press: Online collection of Reference Titles
Contains eBooks covering career advice for a variety of fields and industries.

Career Websites

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the OOH gives an update on each profession annually, including projections

Career One Stop
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, includes state specific job banks
O*NET
O*NET (The Occupational Information Network) is a free database developed for the U.S. Department of Labor, offering free analysis of skills necessary for specific career fields.
U.S. News & World Reports: Best Jobs
Job rankings from U.S. News & World Report magazine.

Last Updated: Dec 21, 2023 4:11 PM
URL: https://sunydutchess.libguides.com/spanish
Print Page

Subjects: World Languages & Cultures

Tags: languages, spanish

For accessibility concerns about the library website, please contact Tina Kiernan.