Ritz Library: Speech: Careers

DCC Academic, Career & Transfer Center (ACT)

The DCC Academic, Career & Transfer Center (ACT) is located in the Orcutt Student Services Building, Room 301, (845) 431-8600.

Academic, Career and Transfer Center
See the full list of services and find out more!

Tips for Searching Career Databases

Here are some keywords that may be helpful in searching vocational databases. Try using different combinations and ask a librarian for help with your search strategy.

Public Relations, Marketing, Politicrians, Speech Pathology, Business Communications, Journalism
Careers in Public Relations, Communications and Media
Resumes, Interviewing, Application, Internship, Job Qualifications, Grants
Work Environment, Work-Life Balance, Attitudes, Job Satisfaction, Stereotypes
Careers, Vocational, Employment, Jobs, Workforce (if you are searching RitzDiscovery)

Careers in Public Speaking

Taking the Stage by Judith Humphrey
Publication Date: 2014-09-22
Boss Lady by Edith Sparks
Call Number: 338.09252 S736 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-19
The WetFeet Insider Guide to Careers in Advertising and Public Relations 2004 by WetFeet, Inc. Staff (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2003-09-01

Public Relations: Occupational Outlook Handbook
"Public relations specialists create and maintain a favorable public image for the organization they represent. They design media releases to shape public perception of their organization and to increase awareness of its work and goals."
Political Scientists: Occupational Outlook Handbook
"Political scientists study the origin, development, and operation of political systems. They research political ideas and analyze governments, policies, political trends, and related issues."

Career Full Text Databases

Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)
Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Salem Press: Online collection of Reference Titles
Contains eBooks covering career advice for a variety of fields and industries.

Career Websites

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the OOH gives an update on each profession annually, including projections

Career One Stop
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, includes state specific job banks
O*NET
O*NET (The Occupational Information Network) is a free database developed for the U.S. Department of Labor, offering free analysis of skills necessary for specific career fields.

Peterson's Test and Career Prep
Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers. Please create an account to use and track progress on practice exams.

U.S. News & World Reports: Best Jobs
Job rankings from U.S. News & World Report magazine.