Skip to Main Content

Yoga

This guide contains information pertaining to the world-wide practice of yoga, an ancient mind-body tradition.

General Encyclopedic Databases

Tips for using online reference collections:

Identify your main topic and keywords.
Try synonyms and different combinations of words. Experiment with broad and narrow (specific) terms.
Search in Gale eBooks or Credo Reference for quick facts and general overviews of your topic.

Need help? Chat with a librarian now!

Credo Reference
General and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other quick reference materials, including images, sound files, videos and more

Gale eBooks
Online encyclopedias, directories and handbooks covering most academic subjects.

Credo Topic Pages

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries by Drew D. Johnson
Publication Date: 2017
Article on yoga as an industry.
The Columbia Encyclopedia by Thomson Gale Staff (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018
Article on yoga from The Columbia Encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Edward A. Irons
Publication Date: 2016-12-01

What kind of yoga should I try?

11 Types Of Yoga: A Breakdown Of The Major Styles
Article discussing 9 different styles of yoga, explaining each type and who might be interested.

News from the Field - Yoga Journal

Links to Related Guides

Other Tools

Get Help with Citation Styles
Find out more about MLA and APA citation styles
Getting Started with Research
Tips and strategies for approaching a research project or paper

Departmental Information

The Department of Allied Health and Biological Sciences (AHBS)

Yoga is part of the AHBS Department, which is located in the Washington Center, room 310.

Department Phone: 845-431-8310

For accessibility concerns about the library website, please contact Tina Kiernan.