Ritz Library: Nursing: Start Your Research

Search RitzDiscovery

or start with an Advanced Search

What does this box search?

Everything held by RitzDiscovery, including online materials (ebooks and articles).

How to Use RitzDiscovery

or browse with the Periodical Finder

What does this box search?

Searches for print and electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers available through the RitzDiscovery.

What does this box search?

Searches for print and electronic newspapers available through the RitzDiscovery.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S U V W

What does this box search?

Searches the A-Z Database list for databases by title or subject matter.

What does this box search?

Searches the library and research guides.

How to Find Nursing Journals

General Encyclopedic Databases

Tips for using online reference collections:

Identify your main topic and keywords.
Try synonyms and different combinations of words. Experiment with broad and narrow (specific) terms.
Search in Gale eBooks or Credo Reference for quick facts and general overviews of your topic.

Need help? Chat with a librarian now!

Credo Reference
General and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other quick reference materials, including images, sound files, videos and more

Gale eBooks
Online encyclopedias, directories and handbooks covering most academic subjects.

Key Resources for Nursing

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, complementary medicine, consumer health & allied health disciplines. Includes full text for 337 journals, as well as book chapters & dissertations.
Facts and Comparisons
Facts and Comparisons is a drug referential resource geared toward retail pharmacists, delivering evidence-based content and drug comparative tools and tables in an easy-to-use interface.
Lexicomp
Evidence-Based drug referential content
MEDLINE with full text
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE includes articles from professional biomedicine journals covering clinical & research medicine. Please note: very little full text is available from this database.
Nursing Education in Video (includes Medcom)
Ovid Core Nursing Titles
Full text of 56 major nursing journals. Includes both AJN and Nursing magazines.
STAT!Ref
Full text of nursing ebooks. Includes books covering care plans, assessment and nursing procedures. Available as a mobile app.
UpToDate
First time users, please register to create an account. UpToDate is designed to help medical professionals make appropriate care decisions and drive better outcomes, by delivering evidence-based clinical decision support that is clear, actionable, and rich with real-world insights.

BoardVitals
Build your own practice exam for NCLEX-RN or NCLEX-PN.

Suggested Keywords

Critical care
Evidence based practice
Health care
Home care
Human nutrition
Intensive care
Nurse practitioner
Nursing careers or vocational guides
Nursing ethics
Nursing care plans
Nursing assessment
Palliative care
Quality of life
Registered nurse
(Specific disease names)

News from the Nursing Times

Reference Books

Document Smart: The A-to-Z Guide to Better Nursing Documentation by Theresa Capriotti
Publication Date: 2020
Mosby’s pharmacology memory notecards by JoAnn Zerwekh
Call Number: Ref. 615.1 Z58 2015 Non-Circulating
Publication Date: 2015
NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses by T. Heather Herdman (Editor); Shigemi Kamitsuru (Editor); Camila Lopes (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. 610.73 N176 2021
Publication Date: 2021-02-15
Nurse's Pocket Guide by Marilynn E. Doenges; Mary Frances Moorhouse; Alice C. Murr; F.A. Davis Company
Publication Date: 2022-03-01
Nursing 2024 Drug Handbook® by Wolters Kluwer (Contribution by)
Call Number: Ref. 615.1 N9746 2024
Publication Date: 2023-05-17

Nursing in Videos

Links to Related Guides

Other Tools

Get Help with Citation Styles
Find out more about MLA and APA citation styles
Getting Started with Research
Tips and strategies for approaching a research project or paper

Departmental Information

The Department of Nursing

The Nursing Department is located in CBI 212.

Department Phone: (845) 431-8570

Nursing

Your Librarian

Research Appointments

Search RitzDiscovery

How to Find Nursing Journals

General Encyclopedic Databases

Key Resources for Nursing

Suggested Keywords

News from the Nursing Times

Reference Books

Nursing in Videos

Links to Related Guides

Other Tools

Departmental Information