Ritz Library: Nursing: Start Your Research

How to Find Nursing Journals

Tips for using online reference collections:

Identify your main topic and keywords.
Try synonyms and different combinations of words. Experiment with broad and narrow (specific) terms.
Search in Gale eBooks or Credo Reference for quick facts and general overviews of your topic.

Need help? Chat with a librarian now!

Credo Reference
General and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other quick reference materials, including images, sound files, videos and more

Gale eBooks
Online encyclopedias, directories and handbooks covering most academic subjects.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, complementary medicine, consumer health & allied health disciplines. Includes full text for 337 journals, as well as book chapters & dissertations.
Facts and Comparisons
Facts and Comparisons is a drug referential resource geared toward retail pharmacists, delivering evidence-based content and drug comparative tools and tables in an easy-to-use interface.
Lexicomp
Evidence-Based drug referential content
MEDLINE with full text
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE includes articles from professional biomedicine journals covering clinical & research medicine. Please note: very little full text is available from this database.
Nursing Education in Video (includes Medcom)
Ovid Core Nursing Titles
Full text of 56 major nursing journals. Includes both AJN and Nursing magazines.
STAT!Ref
Full text of nursing ebooks. Includes books covering care plans, assessment and nursing procedures. Available as a mobile app.
UpToDate
First time users, please register to create an account. UpToDate is designed to help medical professionals make appropriate care decisions and drive better outcomes, by delivering evidence-based clinical decision support that is clear, actionable, and rich with real-world insights.

Get Help with Citation Styles
Find out more about MLA and APA citation styles
Getting Started with Research
Tips and strategies for approaching a research project or paper

The Department of Nursing

The Nursing Department is located in CBI 212.

Department Phone: (845) 431-8570