Ritz Library: Zines : Making Zines

Getting Started

Creating zines doesn’t require a ton of supplies. Some useful tools to get started with include:

Zines allow you to be infinitely creative, and you may consider incorporating:

WikiBooks - Zine Making/Putting Pages Together
A nice collection of illustrations showing how to plan and arrange the content and pages in your zines.
State Library Victoria - Make Your Own Zine
A nice step-by-step guide to making single page zines, including a template.
An Introduction to Zines
A great digital zine provided by The Public, which includes tips and instructions on creating your own.
Zine Design Three Ways: Slides, Videos, & Templates
A great collection of templates and a video workshop on making digital zines from Barnard.

Library of Congress
A collection of "Free to Use and Reuse Sets" from the LOC.
Smithsonian Open Access
A collection of CC0 designated images from the Smithsonian Institute.
The Cleveland Museum of Art
A collection of open access, CC0, materials from The Cleveland Museum of Art's collection.
State Library Victoria
A variety of copywrite-free images, including "photos, maps, posters, illustrations, architectural drawings," and more.
Miami University's Trade Card Collection
Digitized collection of vintage trade card and advertising images.
The Public Domain Review
Curious and unique public domain images.
New York Public Library Digital Collection
NYPL digital resources, filtered by public domain.
Getty Open Images
Large variety of open content from Getty.
Wikimedia Commons
Massive open image collection which includes license information and citations.

Here we have a few instructional and inspirational videos which might help.