Ritz Library: Zines : Online Resources

Online Resources

Zine Archives and Collections

There are a lot of great online archives for zines. Check out some of the links below for some historical zines or themed collections!

DC Punk Archive Zine Library
A virtual archive of DC punk zines from the mid-1970s to the present.
POC Zine Project
A diverse collection of zines made by POC.
Girls, On Film
A quarterly fanzine focused on 80s movies.
Quarantine Public Library
A collaborative repository made up of free resources created while many were staying home.
Asian American Feminist Collective
Free zines and resources which involve themes of race and gender.
Circulation Zero
A collection of digitized notable punk zines from the 1970s-1980s.
Indigenous Action
Zines focused on Indigenous themes, history, theory, and action.
Archive of St. Louis Punk
A variety of zines, objects, and ephemera from the St Louis punk scene.
San Diego Punk Archive
A collection of zines, photos, flyers, and more from the San Diego punk movement.
Digital Transgender Archive
Zines focused on the creations and experiences of members of the LGBTQIA+ community.
Papercut Zine Library
Hundreds of digitized zines available for free.
Sherwood Forest Zine Library
A large collection of zines organized alphabetically and by some themes.
Internet Archive
Tens of thousands of digitized zines available for free, which can be searched and filtered by type.
OCAD University Zine Collection
Massive, growing collection of digitized zines from OCAD University.
Send Back My Stamps!
Archival resource for early heavy, death, thrash, grindcore, black metal, and more.
Sprout Distro
Anarchist zine distro and archive focused on theory and action.
Small Science Collective
An accessible collection of zines focused on sharing concepts related to the sciences.

Online Zine Distros

Online distros are shops that carry zines. Some may have more regional titles, or may have more that revolve around a certain theme.

Zine History

Zines have a rich and diverse history. The links and video below offer some quick overviews of zine history and turning points.

A Brief History of Zines
A history of zines from the UNC at Chapel Hill Rare Book Blog.
A Brief History of Zines
A short timeline of zine history from the Duke University Libraries Digital Collections Blog.