Skip to main content
DCC Logo and Library Banner SUNY Dutchess Library Homepage

RitzDiscovery FAQ

Search RitzDiscovery


•  Advanced search

What Is RitzDiscovery?

RitzDiscovery is a single-search box that provides a dynamic "one-stop" discovery and delivery service for the Library’s collections. You will find millions of scholarly e-resources and thousands of print items including:

  • Books and eBooks
  • Articles from scholarly journals, global newspapers, and popular magazines
  • Videos and audio content
  • Reference entries from encyclopedias

RitzDiscovery can be accessed from the main search box on the Library’s homepage.

When Should You Search RitzDiscovery?

RitzDiscovery does not search ALL library resources but it does search across MOST of our databases, plus eBooks and all the items we hold physically in the Library (such as printed books, paper magazines, Playaway audiobooks, DVDs). If you want to search almost everything at once, RitzDiscovery is the best place to start.

Keep in mind that the Library also subscribes to many specialized subject databases. If you know you only want to search one specific database (like Opposing Viewpoints in Context or Credo Reference), it makes more sense to go directly to that database instead of searching RitzDiscovery.

Sometimes you may wish to use Google Scholar or Google's Advanced Search to compare those results to what you find using RitzDiscovery. If you find an article on Google Scholar that isn't free, you may be able to come back to RitzDiscovery and read it if the Library has a subscription that includes the article you want.

We recommend searching a combination of resources for best results!

Searching RitzDiscovery While Library Is Closed

Type in keywords for titles, authors, or subjects instead of typing questions, and remember that some subjects have more than one approach. Select 'Advanced Search' to enable more precise searching. 

After you enter your search terms in the RitzDiscovery search box, choose from the following options that appear in the drop-down:

(NOTE: While the library is closed some of the search options are different.)

Online Access Materials - Use this search for articles and ebooks that can be accessed remotely.

Articles - Search electronic articles in newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. 

Everything - Start here to search all print and electronic materials provided by Ritz Library.

Course Reserves - Locate items that your instructor has placed on reserve for your class. Search by instructor, course name, or book title.

Viewing Records

Click on an item’s title to see full details. Requesting, emailing, printing and export options are also available.

Sample of a detailed item record