About Us: Library Services & Collections

Find Us

• The Francis U. & Mary F. Ritz Library entrance is located on the third floor of Hudson Hall. 
• DCC @ Fishkill has a library space with comfortable seating, computers, and a laptop bar. Fishkill students have access to all library services and resources.
• General Library Questions: (845) 431-8630
• Circulation Desk: (845) 431-8639
• Reference Desk: (845) 431-8634
• Need an escort to your car?

Digital Collections

• Databases
  • Includes eBook collections, academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers, streaming video, and more
  • Students, faculty and staff log in from anywhere with myDCC credentials
  • All other users may access electronic database collections by visiting the library in person
• RitzDiscovery searches across almost all of our databases at once, plus physical items
• Ritz Research Guides

Physical Collections

• Main Circulating Collection
  • Books available for borrowing
  • Located on the tall shelving units on the third floor
• Reference Collection
  • Encyclopedias, dictionaries, law books, and other reference materials for in-library use only
  • Located on the short shelving units on the main floor of the library
• Course Reserves
  • Materials for select courses, available for in-library use only, located at the Circulation Desk
• Hot Topics Collection
  • Great for starting research on any controversial issue
  • Located in the first row of tall shelves on the main floor
• New Titles
  • A selection of recent additions to the collection
  • Located near the Periodical Collection on the main floor
• McNaughton Collection ("Just for Fun" Reading) 
  • Located with the New Titles
• Juvenile Collection
  • Children's books (Early Childhood Education) located in the first row of short shelves on the main floor
• Playaways Collection
  • Pre-loaded audiobooks on portable media players located in the second row of short shelves on the main floor
• Dr. Jerry Lee Archives
  • Information related to the history of Dutchess Community College
  • Includes yearbooks, course catalogs, student publications, images, audio recordings, ephemera, and historical institutional files
  • Complete audio recordings of historical Lyceum lecture series 
  • Available by appointment only, call (845) 431-8634 or email refdesk@sunydutchess.edu
• Art on Display 
  • "The Library houses a substantial and important art collection that includes works by local, regional, national, and internationally known artists. The collection consists of watercolor and oil paintings, photographs, and sculptures. Many of the pieces depict scenes of the Hudson Valley, while others show poignant scenes of family life, war, and our cultural heritage." (Excerpt from The Permanent Collection: A Guide to Artists and Artworks in the Francis U. and Mary F. Ritz Library)